The Board


Graham Burke
Co-Chair (Industry)
Phil Hokianga
Co-Chair (Māori)

Professor Martin Carroll
Host Representative

Meet the Board

Click on the name to read the full member profile.

Graham Burke, Co-Chair

Graham has worked in the construction industry for 35 years, the last 20 years specialising in scaffolding. He is an advanced scaffolder and built a successful Wellington scaffolding business, WorkZone Scaffolds. 

Phil Hokianga, Co-Chair

Phil served 23 years with the New Zealand Military and since retiring from military service has operated in the high-risk security environment within the private security sector.

Amos Kamo, Board Member

Significant experience across the public and private sectors, including the delivery of a number of medium to large-scale programmes and initiatives across New Zealand.

Craig West, Board Member

Passionate about developing strong career pathways for the construction and infrastructure sector. 

David Fabish, Board Member

Operating his own construction company for 38 years, David has recently established his consultancy business.

Heather MacKay, Board Member

The Director Industry Partnerships at Unitec and has over 10 years’ experience as a Senior Manager in vocational and tertiary education.

Honor Eimi Columbus, Board Member

A Professional Engineer and Infrastructure Advisor with 12 years’ experience in the construction and infrastructure industries.

Pamela Bell, Board Member

An independent Innovation Consultant, growing start-ups and future-focused governance to clients around the world.

Nick Clayton, Board Member

Managing the Naylor Love Wellington team since 2005, he demonstrates professionalism, commitment and enthusiasm in all aspects of his role.

Professor Martin Carroll, Host Representative

Deputy Chief Executive Academic at Manukau Institute of Technology and Unitec, with 30 years’ experience enabling effective, accessible and relevant learning.

The Board governs ConCOVE.  It has been constructed to represent and serve the interests of industry, employers, learners, providers, and other stakeholders such as iwi and hapu.  The Board is guided by a Charter that includes a Board Constitution and Membership. 

The Board has three standing advisory groups, a Māori Advisory Group, a Pasifika Advisory Group, and a Women’s Advisory Group. Their role is to ensure that ConCOVE successfully addresses priority groups and implement the principles of Te Tiriti o Waitangi.

The Board also has the option to establish other Advisory Groups if another priority group is identified in the course of the research.

The ConCOVE Board consists of up to 8 appointed directors. In addition, the Board has the option to co-opt further directors if additional skills or diversity is required.

Workforce Development Council Representative
Up to 4 members from ConCOVE Associates
The power to Co-Opt as required

The Board must consist of at least three Māori, one Pasifika and one Female representative.

To be on The Board, you must be nominated by a ConCOVE member. As a ConCOVE member, you can self-nominate.